Export thread

Restoration HR215 SXA

wfsway

wfsway

Honda 038.JPG
Forum, I am new to this site and wanted to share my experience and efforts to restore the titled subject. I am Quality Engineer by trade and explains why I am so detailed and meticulous about this restoration, and was great experience to learn about this fine equipment piece by piece. Presently I will just list the actions done without explanation.

* Blasted aluminum mower deck to bare metal, repaired 2" hole in deck by aluminum welding and primed with Zinc Chromate.
* Single stage topcoat Toyota dark metallic gray.
* Rebuilt recoil assembly, blasted and painted Candy Apple Red.
* Reworked rusted out areas of grass bag frame assembly and repainted with POR 15. New cloth bag.
* Rebuilt rotor driven disk and brake assembly and surfaced contact faces, new driven disk.
* Top end rebuild engine GXV140 ported and polished intake/exhaust.
* Re-seated valves with lapping compound.
* Drilled oil ports (1mm) larger.
* Added inline fuel filter, new fuel lines.
* Zinc anodized small parts as dissembled.
* Dissembled SX Transmission refilled w/Honda gear fluid and restored.
* Wheels reworked with new bearings. Rubber switched front to rear.
* Restored handle mechanism, cabling and bearing points.

I am sure I have left something out but you folks get the picture, what an experience. I have not put the new stickers caution etc. for the paint to fully cure. Thanks to comment, question.

Honda 069.JPGHonda 064.JPGHonda 055.JPG

robert@honda

robert@honda

Dat chrome, doe.

Where in NC are you located?

That mower was built at the Honda plant in Swepsonville, NC. Engine and many parts came from Japan, mower deck from Mexico (probably)

wfsway

wfsway

I live in Greenville NC coastal region, from my data I have the following.

(1989-1994) 21" 4.5 HP Self Propelled Rear Bagger Blade Brake Clutch (BBC} Cast
(Frame Serial MZAM-6000001 to 6199999)
Model: HR 215-AF
Serial #: MZAM-6069675 SXA
Engine Serial #: GJAB-6126933