Older Craftsman ZTS 7500 w/ Kohler Command 18 engine -Mower deck wont operate.

Bad_karma101

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Older Craftsman ZTS 7500 w/ Kohler Command 18 engine -Mower deck wont operate.
Hi everyone,
New to the forum, and new to Zero Turn mowers.
I just bought a (very) used Craftsman ZTS 7500 - was told its a 1998 year model. Battery was bad, and the seller jumped started it, he demo'd it for me. All looked OK, so I bought it, brought it home. This was yesterday. Today I was playing with it, checking out my new toy in my garage. After fresh gas, and jump starting the bad battery, it sounded good, as I started learning to operate the ZT mower. But.. when I have it idling I tried engaging the PTO knob to start the mower deck. It first stalled/ died. I re-jump started it again, this time giving it more throttle, and the mower deck started, was operating no problem, and then I disengaged the PTO knob . Deck disengaged, but I tried engaging it again, and ..nothing. motor just runs. no pulleys turning underneath?
Im pretty sure I had the parking brake lever "off" , etc. What am I doing wrong?
Am I correct in thinking since it is just getting voltage from the engine running ( .bad battery ) maybe there is not enough power to run the PTO/ Mower deck on that voltage alone? When I put a new, fully charged battery in , will my mower " mow"?
Are there fuses on these older Craftsman ZTS 7500's? Is this an electrical issue? Bad PTO switch , or loose connection?
I realize I have a lot to look at, being its an older Mower, and new to me. Just hoping someone can give me some insight.
All-in-all, I still think I got a good deal in this old mower.
Thanks!

Attachments

• thumbnail.png
    thumbnail.png
    200 KB · Views: 3

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
  • / Older Craftsman ZTS 7500 w/ Kohler Command 18 engine -Mower deck wont operate.
What you are doing wrong is using a mower with a flat battery
This will destroy the alternator if it has not already done so