New MX5060 Review

Brucebotti

Threads
I have been lurking on this site for quite awhile. I picked up a tremendous amount of advice and information from the great folks on this site. I finally settled on the Toro MX5060, and thought that I would share my feelings. Keep in mind, that while I am old, I am new to ZTR mowers. This review is after only two hours of use.

-Kawasaki motor is smooth. quiet, and has plenty of power.
-ZT-2800 serviceable hydro-trans units.
-Welded / fabricated deck gives a great cut and doesn't leave mounds of grass clippings. I was amazed to see just about zero clippings stuck to the underside of the deck. This is a far cry from my Craftsman lawn tractor.
-The seat is quite comfortable.
-The High/Low gear set up is a blessing. It will allow me to learn how to handle the ZTR, while giving a nice cut and keeping me from damaging too much.

Dislikes:
-The bars do not go up high enough. If I sit up straight with my feet on the rubber mat, I can't push the bars far enough forward because my knees are in the way. This is more of a minor annoyance as I can reposition my feet elsewhere.
-The Toro Call Center was of no help when I called to see which hydro fluid was used from the factory. Mine arrived with no fluid visisble in the overflow tank. I thought it was a simple question. The manual says that you can use Toro's special fluid or 20w/50 motor oil. I didn't want to mix, so I asked which was used at the factory. He said nobody knew and my choices were to use either one, or drain and refill the system with whicever one that I wanted to use. I took off one of the vent plugs and noticed that the fluid coming out was a bluish green color so I surmised that this was the Toro fluid. Again, this was a minor annoyance, and one of the things you put up with when you purchase online.