Need help with the clutch??

TonyR

Threads
Hi, I'm a newbie and hope someone can help solve my problem.

I bought an old 1996 Murray 12 hp, 38" and had no problems til now. I tried to download a manual for it but couldn't find a listing. It's a Mod. 38702X8D.

Ok, the brakes didn't work when I bought it but have been taking it very easy until i could try to fix them. Well last week I started rolling downhill slowly and the only way to stop it was shift into 1st. When I did the drive belt popped off and I finally think I figured out how it was routed. So I go about 35' and it just stopped and wouldn't pull in any gear. The belt is still on it. Since the clutch/brake don't feel right I think maybe I need to adjust the clutch but don't know how.

Thanks in advance for any help! :smile:

SeniorCitizen

Lawn Addict
Threads
Hi, I'm a newbie and hope someone can help solve my problem.

I bought an old 1996 Murray 12 hp, 38" and had no problems til now. I tried to download a manual for it but couldn't find a listing. It's a Mod. 38702X8D.

Ok, the brakes didn't work when I bought it but have been taking it very easy until i could try to fix them. Well last week I started rolling downhill slowly and the only way to stop it was shift into 1st. When I did the drive belt popped off and I finally think I figured out how it was routed. So I go about 35' and it just stopped and wouldn't pull in any gear. The belt is still on it. Since the clutch/brake don't feel right I think maybe I need to adjust the clutch but don't know how.

Thanks in advance for any help! :smile:
Trying to stop by putting the transmission in 1st may have sheared a key or worse. With the engine running and the transmission in neutral, determine if the pulley on top of the transmission is turning. If it is, put the transmission in a gear - any gear - and if the pulley is turning but the tractor isn't moving you broke something.

Clutch adjustments can come later if it isn't broke.

TonyR

Threads