MTD with Briggs shooting oil out exhaust

MikeeeP

Forum Newbie
Threads
My nephew purchased a mower. He's used it a few times. I mowed his front lawn yesterday and it ran flawlessly. Then brought it home as I just moved into a new place and don't have a mower yet... mowed the front lawn and marveled how well this inexpensive little guy cut deep grass with no strain. I'm a certified motorcycle mechanic - it wasn't choking down, doing any straining and if it did all I had to do was slow down my push a little and it would just mulch up the deep grass no problem.

Today I go out and I'm mowing and it was barely straining then BUMP it just stopped running. Okay I assumed there was grass wadded up under the deck so I backed it up, tilted it forward and zero grass. Hmmm... so then I start to pull it and it feels SEIZED! Imagine it was running perfectly 5 seconds earlier and I had checked the oil and it was PERFECT!

So... I turn the blade gently by hand to see if it feels like a smudged piston or ring - Hmmm, I pull the starter rope and it fires immediately but with white smoke and oil just puking out of the muffler! I cut it off.

Tried cranking it several more times - and it will crank but it's blowing a mist of oil 4' out of the muffler onto the ground and it's smoking.

This isn't an upright, four valve, overhead cam motorcycle engine. So I thought I'd ask the experts out there... it's a Briggs & Stratton on an MTD 21" push mower. It says it's 158cc.

Clue me in guys what would cause it to instantly lock up then start blowing oil like that?