Export thread

B&S Stator

Geochurchi

Geochurchi

Hi, what should the resistance be on a 20 Amp Stator?
Thanks

R

Rivets

I’ve never checked stator resistance, but this manual may help you. https://www.briggsandstratton.com/c...a/en_us/Files/FAQs/alternator_replacement.pdf

StarTech

StarTech

In order to check these you really need a milli ohm meter. Very very few are out there these days. If you are lucky enough to know an electrician he might still have one. About the only thing you can for is open circuit or a short to the stator frame with the DVMM we normally have laying around.

Plus Briggs only provides us with the following specs.
1675775609153.png

Geochurchi

Geochurchi

Hi, I am an electrician, I was looking for the resistance value of the coil, but aside from that, the stator leads are yellow and have a black connector, what capacity is the stator?

StarTech

StarTech

Is terminals round or flat?

Geochurchi

Geochurchi

It’s flat black, and the terminals are flat, nothing seems to match up, you’re supposed to be able to tell stator by wire color and connector color. NOT!

StarTech

StarTech

The only ones with the flat terminals are the 20 amp stators according the alternator guide.
1676241443512.png

But right wire colors and terminal housing colors no longer means a thing. They be have changed vendors and they didn't the colors right.

Can you post an image of the connector you have? Kinda sounds like someone replaced the connector

Geochurchi

Geochurchi

Nope! Brand new motor out of the box, that’s why I say the color coding is not correct, I tried to post a pic but the file is to large.

shadetree#1

shadetree#1

Just wondering why?
Do you have the stator out of the engine or is the stator in question still installed?
Is your charging system not working, are you replacing a stator or are you installing a charging system onto a Briggs engine?
What is your engine Model, type and code and what are you wanting to operate/charge, etc???