Sharpening chain saw

Zeroturn

Threads
How many times can you use the chain saw before you sharpen it? I've been cutting with my Stihl chain saw for about 2 months (every weekend). I notice it is not cutting as nice as it was when I first bought it. How often would you sharpen the blades? I've got the files here to do it, I just am unsure of how often.

Nimblewill

Forum Newbie
Threads
Sometimes you will need to sharpen the chain several times a day, depending of the wood you are cutting. Watch the size of the chips the saw is throwing out, if you notice saw dust and small chips it's way past time to sharpen it. After you sharpen it a few times, don't forget to file down the raker teeth between the cutting teeth. Always file each tooth the same number of strokes, to keep the teeth the same size.
If the chain ever runs into dirt or rocks, it will dull a chain in a hurry!

44carbine

Threads
Do yourself a favor and buy a blade sharpener. I have a Oregon 510A sharpener. It's some of the best money I ever spent. I hate dull blades and if I am doing a lot of sawing I will sharpen my blade daily.

saxman

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have an Oregon 511 and it is great. Northern Tool has a knock off version that is very good also. Buy one and spend lots of time practicing with it to match the angles that a new chan has. Take your time and it will be very worthwhile knowledge to have.

David

Forum Newbie
Threads
I take a file to my saw blade every other fill up it just takes a few minutes if I've cut a lot I will use my electric saw sharpener by harbor freight works great easy to use.

Attachments

• HPIM5626.jpg
    HPIM5626.jpg
    150.3 KB · Views: 30
  • HPIM5630.jpg
    HPIM5630.jpg
    145.9 KB · Views: 22

noma

Threads