Engine & Transmission Problems - Need Help and Advise

CrazyChase

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Engine & Transmission Problems - Need Help and Advise
Hi, I'm new to these threads so let me first state that I own a Craftsman DYT 4000 (2004 model) that has 235 hours on it. It was working fine until the end of last fall, after I did an oil change on it.

My big problem is that my engine won't start. When I turn my key into the ignition I can hear the engine crank and crank but it does not start up. I can even hear the air go through its compression cycle, its just not mixing with the fuel. Note: I have been having to jump-start the mower with my car battery because the battery on the mower can not hold a full charge (it's dropped down to 7.25 V, which I know I need to get replaced). I've run out of ideas as to what the problem is and how to fix it.

I'm also having problems with my transmission. When I pull the lever at the back of the mower to disengage the transmission so I can manually push the mower I am unable to do so. Every time I attempt to push the mower in forward or reverse the rear wheels lock up, behaving as if the transmission is still engaged. I don't know how to fix this, but I am hoping that it is something small and easy to do.

Any help or advice will be much appreciated.

SONOFADOCKER

Threads
Brakes can bind up over the winter just from moisture . Fine film of rust - spray wd40 on the brakes system. No starts can be simple . Check seat brake blade safety .
Then go to the basics - engine needs gas air and spark . One of those is missing .

twinfords

Threads
lets start with what engine do you have? Kohler or Briggs? HP etc. you need to check compression and fuel delivery, as well as spark, if you have those 3 things the unit should start. your trans neutral knob may be slipping on the stud to allow it to engage the nuetral switch or your brake may be sticking.

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads