honda GCV 160 surging

cuzihavto

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi. I'm a newbie here. Engine wouldn't start- probably because I over filled with oil and it ran into cylinder and then into carb-jet-fuel bowl.
I took off carb, flushed out oil, but now engine surges, however NOT if the choke is held in (this engine has spring to open choke).
Looks like governor rod is hooked up correctly.
Do I have a dirty/fouled jet, or is it something else?
PS last year same engine wouldnt run without the choke and I took it to small engine guy who simply replaced the carb- I thought that was pretty crude but they are $35 from Sears.
Thanks

SONOFADOCKER

Threads
Half choke - you need to clean rebuild the carb . Gasoline left in the carb is a no no now . Put on a black and red plastic fuel shut off in the fuel line .
Your oil bath into the carb now has it messed up .

pugaltitude

Lawn Addict
Threads
I thought that might be it. Do you always get new gaskets when the carb comes off?

Only if they rip when you take the carb off.
Remember to remove and clean under the philips screw on top of the carb and the mixture screw
as well.

jms2k

Forum Newbie
Threads
Didn't know if I should just create a new thread or not, but I have the same engine with this carb:
Plano Power Equipment Online Store - Honda 16100-Z0L-871 Carburetor Assembly.

When I was mowing under a tree today, I got caught on some stray young branches. Ever since then, the engine continually surges when running, unless the choke is on.

I've been mowing all spring without any problems, fresh tank of new gas, etc. I winterize after the last mow in the fall. Any ideas of what I need to be looking for? Thanks!

cuzihavto

Forum Newbie
Threads
When I was mowing under a tree today, I got caught on some stray young branches. Ever since then, the engine continually surges when running, unless the choke is on.