Craftsman 42" 917.270610 Drive Belt Keeps Slipping Off

Pktivey

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Craftsman 42" 917.270610 Drive Belt Keeps Slipping Off
Hi,

I recently bought a Craftsman 917.270610 "as is", and I think the guy had done something to mask a problem with the drive belt.

It worked the first 2 times I mowed my 1/2 acre yard, then the drive belt slipped off. Since then, it will run for between 30 seconds and 2 minutes before slipping off again.

I can take my finger and slip the belt back on, start it back up and mow for 30 seconds or so then it slips off again.

The clutching idler pulley is really loose...I can move it back and forth a little, and can "tilt" it about 25 degrees. Is that the expected behavior? I checked the clutch idler spring, thinking it had fallen off, but it's there.

Any ideas? I'm new to lawn mower repair, so I don't want to spend my whole Saturday replacing the belt and spring only to find out that wasn't the problem in the first place...

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
The tilting idler pulley is what is probably allowing the belt to come off. Need to find out what is wrong with the pulley, idler arm and get it fixed and that should solve your problem.

Pktivey

Forum Newbie
Threads
The tilting idler pulley is what is probably allowing the belt to come off. Need to find out what is wrong with the pulley, idler arm and get it fixed and that should solve your problem.

Okay, let me ask the question a different way. My idler pulley is loose and can be bent down about 25 degrees. What are the possible reasons this could happen?

SeniorCitizen

Lawn Addict
Threads
Okay, let me ask the question a different way. My idler pulley is loose and can be bent down about 25 degrees. What are the possible reasons this could happen?
If the location where the idler pulley bracket mounts looks similar to this that could be one reason the pulley doesn't align properly. Take it off and have a look.

Attachments

• Murray Idler Bracket mount hole -2-28-07.jpg