4231 Engine

Raw Dodge

Threads
This is my first post here,Im new to LMF...I recently purchased a used 4200 with the 31HP gas engine. I took a chance with this machine,and lost the roll of the dice,so I am in need of a replacement engine...these things are not easy to find...anyone know where i can find a ventrac spec engine either new or used running .I think its cheaper to put a 31hp turbo or 26.5hp NA diesel in it,but neither of these engines can match the torque,power,reliability or longevity of the 950G....so id rather stay with the gas engine in this case(and Im a diesel lover).....any help would be appreciated...

Slater

Threads
Sorry to hear that :thumbdown:
What happened that you need a replacement engine? Did it have a ton of hours on it or did the last owner not maintain it properly, because that engine is excellent.
I believe this is what you are looking for, but other than that I can't help you. Maybe try calling the factory or a few dealers in your area, maybe they picked up an extra one or two?
Ventrac Legendary 31HP GAS ENGINE COMPLETE Ready to Run | eBay

Good luck!

Raw Dodge

Threads
The machine I bought had its coolant neglected... somewhere along the line someone replaced antifreeze with water.... combine a new york winter and straight water... and let's just say the best engine in the world doesn't stand a chance.... I tore it down... right now I need a radiator, and more than likely a cylinder head, and a few freeze plugs... I'm not sure if I should try to make the repairs or play it safe and get a new engine .. this thing starts and runs perfect... these engines are very hard to find.. and the diesels are not nearly as reliable....btw machine has 500hrs on it,engine has around 100 hrs on it,its its 2nd engine already,first one was run with no oil drain plug until it locked up.

Slater

Threads
btw machine has 500hrs on it,engine has around 100 hrs on it,its its 2nd engine already,first one was run with no oil drain plug until it locked up.