Need a replacement engine

rbur

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hello all, I have a 2005 craftsman LT 2000 with a 18.5 B & S OHV Intek engine 31P777-0299E1. My wife was mowing and it quit. Never had a problem with it before. It won't turn over and I can't turn it by hand. I was told it probably got to hot and broke a valve or something and locked the engine because the prong on the spark plug is bent and the ceremic end is broken. I changed the oil regularly but was lax with cleaning the air filter and I think that is the reason the engine is now ruined. Anyway, I am sure the engine is shot.

My question is what would be a good and reasonably priced engine to drop in it. I am not a great mechanic by any means and I need one that will drop right in without any hole drilling or re-rigging the throttle cable, wiring etc. All of the other parts on the engine are good and I can take them off to put on a new engine if needed. Any advice is appreciated.

jhwentworth

Threads
Hello all, I have a 2005 craftsman LT 2000 with a 18.5 B & S OHV Intek engine 31P777-0299E1. My wife was mowing and it quit. Never had a problem with it before. It won't turn over and I can't turn it by hand. I was told it probably got to hot and broke a valve or something and locked the engine because the prong on the spark plug is bent and the ceremic end is broken. I changed the oil regularly but was lax with cleaning the air filter and I think that is the reason the engine is now ruined. Anyway, I am sure the engine is shot.

My question is what would be a good and reasonably priced engine to drop in it. I am not a great mechanic by any means and I need one that will drop right in without any hole drilling or re-rigging the throttle cable, wiring etc. All of the other parts on the engine are good and I can take them off to put on a new engine if needed. Any advice is appreciated.