Spindle Bearing Lifespan?

Cherokee Mike

Forum Newbie
Threads
I just purchased a new Gravely ZT HD 44 mower. The dealer told me the mower deck spindle bearings are sealed and cannot be greased.

My previous mower had zerk fittings for greasing the bearings, so I'm a little concerned about this. I will only be using this mower on my 1/2-acre yard, so it will have an easy life with no commercial applications.

Are permanently-sealed bearings really permanent, or will I have bearing replacement issues in a few years?

(When I was a teenager, my dad purchased an Ariens Fairway Four riding mower. It resembled a Snapper mower and had a 4 hp Briggs and Stratton engine. We used that little mower for at least ten years. Tough little machine!)

Richard-TX

Threads
The maintenance free spindles usually last about 2-3 years in commercial use. It has been reported that the bearings are replaceable but I have no experience with them.

earthworm

Threads
The maintenance free spindles usually last about 2-3 years in commercial use. It has been reported that the bearings are replaceable but I have no experience with them.
I am sure( I think) that Bearings Inc has the replacement. But then there is the labor - $60 to $120 per hour.
IMO, zerks are better, but they must be used, of course....Particularly after a deck wash down.
And the rubber boots to protect the bearing is important, no "sealed" bearing is sealed 100%.

Richard-TX

Threads
Greasing ball bearings is tricky business. Too much grease is as bad as too little.

Duffer72

Threads