Toro mower wont start

pmg2010

Forum Newbie
Threads
I am new to this... just 8 hours of experience now, so bear with me.

I have a Toro CTS-XL self propelled lawn mower. The engine is made by Briggs and Stratton. The mower is about 8 years old now. It has been sitting in my shed un-used for about 4 or 5 years. I got it out today and she would not start.

The engine will turn over if I spray a little starter fluid in the carb, but it will stop after a second or two.

I took off the carburetor and cleaned it up a bit. There was some gunk in pickup tube so I cleaned that out. The bowl under the carb was filthy and had bits of glaze floating in it. Cleaned that out thoroughly as well. The self Metering ports on the bowl bolt were clogged as well, so I cleaned them out too.

The air filter was dirty so I blew it out with the air compressor, and when that didn't work, I replaced it with a new one. The Spark plug was gummed up with oil so I cleaned it up with WD-40 and when that didn't work I replaced it with a new one. The primer bulb was leaking so I replaced that as well.

The mower now as a new spark plug, new filter, new primer bulb, clean carb, clean bowl and it still will not start.

Since it will turn over when I give it some started fluid, but wont keep running, I suspect that it is a fuel supply or fuel / air mixture issue. But not sure what else to do.

The float in the bowl seems to work fine, I confirmed that it allows and cuts off the fuel flow in the respective positions, and the and the bowl is definitely filling with gas, so it is not a fuel line / supply issue. The throttle valve is clean and moves freely. So it is not an air supply issue. The gas is new, and the plug is sparking.

Help!

Thanks.

crazyoldtractor

Threads