25 Hp Kohler Gravely... black smoke under load.. loss of power??

gunner181

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / 25 Hp Kohler Gravely... black smoke under load.. loss of power??
Newbie here...

Hello all...

I have a 60" Gravely with a 25HP Kohler on it.. The machine idles great, starts fine..ect... But when you start mowing and cut more than 1/2 in it starts to bog down... IF you cut a bit more than that you start to see the big black cloud.... I hate throwing parts at these things!! My brother in law who is a mechanic thought it was a bad plug wire ( you have to buy the module b/c the wire is laminated to it) no real change??? We did a compression test and found 150 # on both sides.
model CV 25S
Spec no 69536
DISPL 725
the manual says to do a leak down test... ? Does that make our compression test inaccurate?
This is very annoying seeing that I cant really cut the grass with any length to it... The engine does have a few hrs on it (1800)... His next idea was to check the no load RPm then move to the carb.
If anyone could kinda explain what they think might be happening that would be fantastic!!

Thanks so much!

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
Black smoke means too much fuel. I would say since it happens under load the most likely area would be to look at the high speed jet in the carb. May off came out or has worn over time causing a rich run conditon. Could be an air filter problem also. May look clean but be partially clogged. I have seen it on more than one occation.

Briana

Lawn Addict
Threads
Hey there - WELCOME to LMF!

I moved your thread to the Gravely Forum. :smile:

Richard-TX

Threads
It sounds like the carb float may be defective. What happens is the plastic float deteriorates and the float will start absorbing gasoline and that will make it run too rich. I would start with that. Might as well change the needle and seat too.

gunner181

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hey there...