In a Quandry About Riding Mowers.

BucksCountyPa

Forum Newbie
Threads
We just bought a new house with an acre of land (see photos). I am in need of a new riding mower and am considering both traditional four-wheel and zero turn radius models.

I've been researching and reading everything I can find online about lawn tractors/riding mowers, including reading just about every post on this web site. I have also visited my local agricultural/home/farm equipment dealers/service shops (not big-box stores) to see what they have on hand.

After all of this I still cannot make a rational decision about what type of mower to buy and which engine manufacturer the mower should have on it. Engine choice is a tough one because there are as many good points about a manufacturer as there are bad points. Everybody has a personal preference, just like in politics and/or religion. Since I'm a newbie, I am open to conversion. Give it your best shot. But do it with data, not emotion.

I can tell you this; I am torn between two brands, 1) Simplicity and 2) Toro. Please do muddle the waters by offering me any advice on other brands. It was hard enough to make it this far.

Here are the traditional models I'm looking at:
1. Toro LX467. 42"cut/manual PTO/2 blade/hydrostatic transmission/20hp Kohler Courage Twin Cam engine. MSRP$1899.
2. Toro LX468. 46"cut/electric PTO/2 blade/hydrostatic transmission/22hp Kohler Courage Twin Cylinder engine. MSRP$2199.
3. Simplicity Regent 22/44. 44"cut/electric PTO/3 blade/hydrostatic transmission/22hp Two Cylinder Briggs & Stratton engine. MSRP$2699.
4. Simplicity Regent 23/46. 46"cut/electric PTO/3 blade/hydrostatic transmission/23hp Kohler Two Cylinder Courage engine. MSRP$2999.

Here are the zero turn radius models I'm looking at:
1. Toro Timecutter SS4235. 42"cut/2 blade/dual hydrostatic transmission/20hp Kawasaki V-Twin engine. MSRP$2799.
2. Simplicity Axion 21/42. 42"cut/2 blade/hydrostatic transmission/21hp B&S Pro Series OHV engine. MSRP$2599.