ZTS 6000 - Always at full speed.

Leaky8

Threads
Hi,
I'm a newbie. The grass season is here and I have been remiss in getting ready.

At the end of last mowing season, I was finishing my last mowing for the year (5 acres)
and noticed a change in engine speed. I never really gave it that much thought UNTIL
I went to put it at idle and could not. It was if I had lost linkage or something. It was
dark and I told myself I would get to it. Well I didn't.

Engine starts fine, but goes to full throttle immediately.
The Control lever works fine and it operates linkages under Carb.
It will also CLOSE the choke when put in Start Posit.
However, lever has NO effect on engine speed.

Using the manual, I compared parts and it looks like everything is in place.
The Governor moves freely and it has it's 2 springs which are hard to see.

Just seems like something is missing. Any ideas or help would be greatly
appreciated.

Thanks.
Leaky

Attachments

• IMG_4413.jpg
    IMG_4413.jpg
    119.9 KB · Views: 18

Luffydog

Threads
Welcome aboard:thumbsup: gonna need engine numbers so we can help find your prob. By looking at the pic from what I see possibly a Briggs. Get those numbers and post back so we can better help u find the prob.

Leaky8

Threads
Hi,

I didn't include sufficient data.
ZTS 6000
26/52 BS 107.289920
Date Code: 012809 2013 469663 170506

Not to confuse things.
There is another white paper label:
Build Date: 01.09
Model-4458770132B1
Serial-090106YG02532

Thanks.

Leaky

Leaky8

Threads
Thanks for feedback.
I have watched the video's and rechecked all the parts and linkages. I understand the Governor controls the idle.

Questions:
When the engine is in-started, should I be able to move throttle against the IDLE screw?
I am looking for an ENGINE Repair Manual. My Engine is a 445877 model and I'm told the
B&S 273521 will cover my Engine. Can anyone confirm this? What can I expect to pay for one?
Thanks.

Leaky

Luffydog

Threads