Engine respond to ignition and turns but won't fire up.

TheSchultMeistr

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Engine respond to ignition and turns but won't fire up.
This is making me crazy. I'm new to owning a lawn mower. I have 3 acres and a friend mine gave me an old Montgomery ward mower (1991 I think). It was running two years ago. I couldn't get it to start this year so i took in to get it looked at. They replaced the carburetor, did some maintenance and said it was fine. They also removed the choke cable and attached the choke to the throttle. When i go it home, it wouldn't start. So I took it back. They messed with the choke (I think). When I went to pick it up, it barely started. But they said it was fine. Once i got it home, it wouldn't start. I took back. Seriously, again. Then they messed with it said it was fixed. I went to pick it up and started fine at the shop. When i got it home, it wouldn't start. After messing with the throttle and choke and trying to start it for about 5 minutes, it did fire up and I mowed about 2 acres. It works great while running. After i was done, I parked it and turned it off. I turned it right back on to see if would start and it did with no problem. The following day I am back to no start. I tried for quite a while today and it won't fire up. The engine spins and responds to the ignition, but won't fire up. Any ideas? (Besides finding a new repair shop). I'm losing my mind.
-Ryan

Engine: Briggs and Stratton Model 287707

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
My first guess would be the choke conversion.
There is no reason to remove a stand alone choke
have a good look at the top of the carb and make sure the choke is full closed wit the throttle fully opened.

Threads
Yes I agree with Bert..... The separate choke is the way to go........ Did they give you a reason for the conversion ??

A lot of guys redo the all in one to a separate choke because it's better.......