Need some help, cylinder scoring

tom3

Lawn Addict
Threads
Have an old early 80s JD self propelled mower, perfect machine for me. Old original engine started making noise, using oil, then losing power. Tear down showed the aluminum bore scored up bad, piston in bad shape too. Replaced it last spring with a basic NOS shortblock. with new internal drive components, eliminated the points. Pretty much disaster. Ran it for 1- or 15 minutes and drained the oil, silver colored with aluminum flake. Ran it through the summer, 10 or 12 hours, 5 oil changes. Every change the oil was full of the same metal flake, silvery stuff. Ran fine to start with but at the end of summer the engine was smoking and using oil, losing power. Same result as the old block I'm no master mechanic but I have been wrenching on engines for a while, it was done right. Used Briggs&Stratton 30wt oil in the new motor, $20 worth for about 10 hours run time. So, is there a trick to getting these Kool Bore engines to live? Is the Briggs oil really right for these engines? I read the new oils are not what they used to be. I'm really just lost here.

Boobala

Lawn Pro
Threads
IF you followed the correct O/H manual, AND the SPEC-sheets, I don't understand why this could be, BUT, crap happens, I think you may have to pull it back down, and probably (if not badly scored) CHECK bore DIAMETER, hone the cylinder, clean-up the piston, replace the rings, (being sure of gap locations) check rod & "bearings" and you might "skate" by.... or wind up replacing with a used similar better engine with a cast iron good sleeve. Keep us posted...........

BRIGGS Engine TYPE.JPG

Russ2251

Threads
I read the new oils are not what they used to be.
Very true...they are much better now than in decades past.

tom3

Lawn Addict
Threads