New Member - Need Snapper Help

BobbyFord

Threads
Hi,
New member here. I'm having trouble with ID and year of my push mower.
Model V212 Serial# 92011485
I've been using this mower since about 1996 with zero problems. It's all original except for newer tires. This mower runs good, burns a little oil and just broke the pull cord. I like this mower and I want to get a new motor as opposed to buying a new mower.
Not really worried about price as much as getting a quality motor that will last. Do all lawn mower motors have the same deck bolt pattern? Where is a good place to get a new motor? I've seen talk of shaft size.
Any help will be appreciated.

wingless

Threads
Welcome to the forum.

When I replaced the engine on my Snapper self propelled 21" walk behind I purchased the replacement from Northern Tool.

They have a decent selection and acceptable prices.

Here are their Vertical Shaft Briggs and Stratton Engines. They also offer Honda engines.

The Snapper deck already has plenty of holes for a variety of engine bolt patterns.

The easy solution would be to select one w/ a shaft that matches the existing pulley and blade mount. When I swapped my engine I also installed the available larger shaft pulley for greater ground speed.

wingless

Threads
This shows the Snapper engine bolt pattern.

36376841885_020fd697c2_b.jpg

BobbyFord

Threads
Awesome. Thanks for the reply! I will definitely check out Northern Tool, I already have an account with them.
In the meantime, I went to replace the pull cord so that I can at least finish mowing my lawn (broke when I tried to restart after emptying the bag,) dropped the plastic gear and the spring popped out. For the life of me I cannot figure out how to load the spring after getting it back in the plastic gear. I guess I'll run the starter housing down to the local Snapper repair so the guy can laugh at me.

*EDIT: Great job on your mower restomod.

Boobala

Lawn Pro
Threads