Hydrostatic Drive or linkage/spring problem?

Offramp

Threads
COMPLETE NEWBIE TO THIS FORUM and looking for your experience to guide me to a fix.

The hydrostatic transmission on our John Deere LT 166 Lawn Tractor just scared the heck out of me last weekend. For 19 years the drive would stop as soon as you removed your foot from the forward or reverse pedals. The first failure was when reversing, it would not stop reversing until I pushed a bit on the forward pedal. Forward travel released as soon as forward pedal was released. My first thought was there must be a spring on the reverse pedal/cable that broke. But shortly later the forward travel started sticking and not releasing until the reverse pedal was applied. So now both forward and reverse don't disengage without help from the alternate pedal assist. The day of this problem was a 35 f degree day and I was mowing damp leaves.

Tried to go online to look for a parts list drawing to see if there are springs to be looked at. But I wasn't having much luck getting this info online.

So:
Are there external springs on the drive pedals/cables external to the hydro trans or are the "springs" or hydraulic stop in the transmission?
Or might I just have some wet leaves causing a sticking issue with the drive pedals/ cables?

Looking for likely scenarios of the problem and likely cures.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
:welcome:
You should be cleaning the hydro drive down at the end of every season.
A long tube air duster works wonders.
If you follow the control rod down to the drive you will find a pair of short lever arms with a spring between them.
Replace the spring it is what returns the pedals.
Give every place where one thing moves against another a good shot of dry lithium spray grease after blowing them clean.

Offramp

Threads
:welcome:
You should be cleaning the hydro drive down at the end of every season.
A long tube air duster works wonders.