Mounting a 412 snowblower on a 618 tractor

jerryshenk

Threads
I'm new to running a Grasshopper. I got a 618 mower with a SL52 mower deck this summer. I love it...works great. On Friday, I picked up a 412 snowblower to go with it - hoping for lots of snow! ;)

After spending a few hours figuring things out, I've figured out how to tilt my desk to clean it and sharpen the blades. I've also figure out how to remove it in preparation for mounting the snowblower. Based on various research, I know that I have a "quick connect" setup for the mower deck. I think that's pretty common. Well, the snowblower doesn't have that same setup. It also doesn't have the "lift kit assembly" for raising and lowering the blower itself. If I measure the distance between the "quick connect receivers" (probably not the right term - arrow points to then in the picture;) on the tractor, it's about 12". If I measure the distance between the "arms" on the snowblower, there is about 15" between them.

2017-10-29 15.57.42-1.jpg2017-10-29 16.02.28.jpg

Can anybody tell me what I need to connect the snowblower? I kindof think I need a "quick attach kit" and a "lift kit" but, I'm not sure. I'm a little concerned about the differences in widths. I'd also like to get them used if possible...new looks like over $300 for those two kits.

jerryshenk

Threads
Some additional information:
This snowblower is actually, an M412 from about 1997 (I think - SN# 340870). I got a manual from Grasshopper and the connection to the tractor is a "Snow Thrower Attachment" (PN# 643616) and not the current "Quick-Connect Snowthrower Mount Assembly" (PN# 603794). Does anybody know if it's possible to install the new part number on the old "Auger Housing"?

BlazNT

Lawn Pro
Threads
From the parts catalog, I have looked at it looks as though it will work. I would call grasshopper direct to make sure. They are very helpful and you will get all the info you need.

jerryshenk

Threads