Add fire ant killer before, during, or after mowing?

Trailltrader

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Add fire ant killer before, during, or after mowing?
OK, I'm completely new at this- purchased my first home, roughly 1 acre of grass and 1/2 acre of tree's and shrubs.

My question is: Do I want to put down bug/ant killer then mow the lawn, mow the lawn with a spreader behind it to immediately put down the bug/fire ant killer, or do mow, then put down the bug/fire ant killer in a separate operation? I don't know what the procedure is so I'm asking- Please advise! Thank You

Spindifferent

Forum Newbie
Threads
I would mow first, and then place the ant bait on the mound after mowing so that the bait is not dispersed by the mower. Try and place the bait so that you'll have a couple days without rain after spreading so that the ants can forage for the dry bait, eat it, and then perish. Repeat as necessary. :smile:

Pumper54

Threads
Read the directions on the Fire ant poison first, Then I would mow and then spread the poison around/on the mounts as per the directions. Most fire ant poison is not a broad cast type.
Tom

Trailltrader

Forum Newbie
Threads
Read the directions on the Fire ant poison first, Then I would mow and then spread the poison around/on the mounts as per the directions. Most fire ant poison is not a broad cast type.
Tom