Walk behind Snapper RP21509B - Clutch Disk Replacement

SteelersFan

Threads
Hi -

I am new to this forum and new to small engine repairs. I am trying to replace the above mentioned clutch disk and I am having trouble removing the nut from the underside of the deck.

I can get the nut loose but the "spindle" (for lack of a better term) above the deck, spins freely as I would suspect it to. It appears as though this "spindle" has two opposing flat sides that would allow a wrench (albeit very small) to grab hold and then allow me to loosen the nut from this "spindle".

Snapper website along with others show this part in their diagrams but do call it out in the parts listings... this is the reason I call it what I do.

Do I need a special wrench and or is there something (obviously) I am missing here. I am a novice and I am trying to "refurbish" my old Snapper walk-behind, which includes painting the deck (reason for removing the clutch disk).

Thank you in advance and I apologize for the lengthy post. I really do appreciate everyone's time (time is a precious)!

SteelersFan

BlazNT

Lawn Pro
Threads
Picture is worth a thousand words. Please!!

SteelersFan

Threads
BlazNt -

Sorry for not including them in my first thread - please see attached pictures for details.

Thank you sir for your time,
SteelersFan

Hope this works - first time uploading pictures.
image1.JPGimage2.JPG

wingless

Threads
Welcome to the forum.

Yes, the driven disk spindle rotates freely, as-expected for proper operation.

On my driven disk, the spindle shaft end has a slot, for a flat-blade screwdriver, for removal and replacement.

Once removed, the driven disk is an assembly, with the large disc, a captive internal bearing race and the captive shaft. The hub / spacer may be removed from the shaft. A replacement part is provided w/ two different hub / spacer parts to make the replacement universal for all applications.