Identify this 190cc Briggs?

Riggs

Forum Newbie
Threads
Looking for a little help identifying an engine.
I bought a mower used on Craigslist, and naturally it ran for 3-4 minutes or so before it started spewing white smoke.
I removed the air filter and found it soaking in oil.
This obviously was a concern for me and I'm a techie by trade--not a mechanic. I decided to strip the engine since i figured rebuilding a small engine couldn't be that expensive (maybe I'm wrong lol). That's when I also found that the cylinder had a big pool of oil as well.
Anyway, after everything was disassembled I realized that there was very little at all in the way of markings to identify this engine so that I can buy replacement parts.

If I post pictures I'm hoping that someone can help me figure out what engine model I should be looking up parts for.
Secondarily, does it look like I should even bother replacing the rings and gaskets? Or is the cylinder scored too much?

http://imgur.com/a/10FjR

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
The model number should be stamped into the medal flap that hangs over the top of the muffler on the starter housing.

Riggs

Forum Newbie
Threads
Is that my only option you think?
I have checked every inch of every individual part that's been disassembled from the engine, and have posted pictures of the only numbers anywhere on any parts in the link on my first post. The only one that I omitted was on the flywheel I think which would not have helped. The starter housing doesn't have any numbers at all stamped on it.

Am I boned here or maybe B&G would be helpful?
This all said, I don't know what too much wear or scoring looks like in the cylinder. Does it look to you like a rebuild would even be worth it? The scoring on one side of the cylinder does have a very slight texture to it.

Thanks,

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads