158 cc Briggs & Stratton engine stuttering

Smithy

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi, I just got a pretty beat down lawn mower from a friend, that did not start. I am not an expert and English is not my native language so excuse me for probably using the wrong terms, but I hope you can understand, what I am saying.

I cleaned the Carburator replaced the Carburator gasket, the air filter, the primer (the original one had a big cut) and the spark plug. Now it starts flawlessly with the first pull, but after a few seconds it starts to stutter and seems to run louder, than it should. What could be the issue here? It runs fine right after startup, but after 4-6 seconds it starts stuttering. When I tighten the smaller of the two springs, the stuttering seems to be retarded a bit, but that seems to also increse the rpm in general and after 8 seconds it starts to stutter again non the less.

I would be happy for suggestions, because my friend can not afford a new lawn mower and I told her I would try to fix it.

The engine is a 158cc from the 500 series.

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
Can you get us the model, type numbers off of the briggs engine so we can see what engine you have out of the several hundred variations in that size range.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Hi, I just got a pretty beat down lawn mower from a friend, that did not start. I am not an expert and English is not my native language so excuse me for probably using the wrong terms, but I hope you can understand, what I am saying.