Replacing a Honda mower muffler with a quieter one

Elpigo

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi, here is my problem. I'm a musician and an avid grass caterer. I own a HRR2162SDC Honda mower and I find the noise quite annoying. When I mow my grass, I have to wear an over the ear protector coupled with a pair of in-ear hearing protector. Fact is I remember a former brother in law that owned a Honda mower (can't remember which model) that was so quiet, I did not believe it. As far as I can remember, it was a Deluxe model with hydro-static transmission and I think it also had a heavy plastic bridge.

So my question is: would it be possible to replace the present muffler on my mower with a more efficient (understand quieter) one?

Hope I'll find some help on this forum (my hearing and my comfort would be greatly happy if the results are positive).

AYP

Boobala

Lawn Pro
Threads
Hi, here is my problem. I'm a musician and an avid grass caterer. I own a HRR2162SDC Honda mower and I find the noise quite annoying. When I mow my grass, I have to wear an over the ear protector coupled with a pair of in-ear hearing protector. Fact is I remember a former brother in law that owned a Honda mower (can't remember which model) that was so quiet, I did not believe it. As far as I can remember, it was a Deluxe model with hydro-static transmission and I think it also had a heavy plastic bridge.

So my question is: would it be possible to replace the present muffler on my mower with a more efficient (understand quieter) one?

Hope I'll find some help on this forum (my hearing and my comfort would be greatly happy if the results are positive).

AYP

Why not just sell what you have and buy an electric ..!!

apwillard1986

Threads
The difference you are hearing is the difference in the GXV and GCV engines. Both are fine but the GXV that came on the cast deck models is a commercial design and is known to be quieter.