1975 JD 400 Briggs repower grounding issue

redryer

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a 1975 JD 400 with a briggs 23 hp. The wiring harness with the diodes for the coils attaches to the side of engine and they end there. There is a tab that can be plugged into but there's nothing there and I'm guessing that is the ground. My problem is that when I shut off the ignition switch the engine continues to run 5-10 seconds then shuts off. If I ground out that tab with a wire to the frame when I turn ignition switch off then it powers down beautifully. IF that is my problem then can I wire that tab back to the ignition switch? My ignition switch has the 5 pin with letters B,S,I,R,A. I'm a novice mechanic but I have no electrical skill what-so-ever and our local shops start out by charging 35ph. I'm at a loss here and I'm hoping you can help, I appreciate it!

redryer

Forum Newbie
Threads
IMG_0962.jpg

Here is a picture of the tab

redryer

Forum Newbie
Threads
So, I bought a toggle switch and I'm going to run a wire from toggle switch to the tab and another wire from toggle switch back to engine to ground it out.
Would that work?

NorthBama

Threads
I think you need to get correct switch and ground the wire from the ignition coils when the switch is turned off

Last edited:

Jack17

Threads
So, I bought a toggle switch and I'm going to run a wire from toggle switch to the tab and another wire from toggle switch back to engine to ground it out.
Would that work?
Sure it'll work but why doing something that not necessary. Post the model number of your tractor so I can look up wiring diagram, Kill relay is already somewhere in there it just waits for you to run that wire from the tab on the engine to it.

redryer

Forum Newbie
Threads