Blue Fuel?

SHOESNSOCKS

Threads
Howdy!
I've got some blue fuel in a 4 stroke tiller. How do I tell if it's 2 stroke fuel or not. Someone rented the machine and now it's got this stuff in it.

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
The test I use is to put some of the fuel on a Kleenex and allow it to evaporate. If it leaves an oily residue it is two cycle mix. Works for me, but you may want to just dump it out and start fresh. The little left in the unit will not cause a problem.

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
The worse thing that will happen will be it will smoke.

SHOESNSOCKS

Threads
The Kleenex trick sounds pretty cool thank you, I'll have to remember that for in the future as well.

ILENGINE- This is what I've understood in the past, but I am no mechanic. A couple of weeks ago though a customer brought back a brand new generator because it was surging. We ended up replacing the carb after some other attempts to fix it, and it still didn't help. My Boss noticed a lot of oil in the air filter, so he blamed the guy who sold it to the customer because he thinks he put the wrong type of fuel in it ( we put a little fuel in the unit and fill it with oil and start it before the customer takes it.). The top of the piston has some dark brown gunk on it. Would using 2-stroke fuel do something like that?
Sorry for the noob questions. Both of our mechanics quit and I'm having to fill their shoes you might say.

ILENGINE

Lawn Pro
Threads
I can see where the oil in the 2 cycle mix in some of the new epa carbs could potentially cause a lean run issue, but should be temporary when new fuel is added clearing out the oil mix. I suspect the problem with the generator that you mentioned was due to the customer or the person that added the fuel initially has went bad or was marginal to start with, and the oil in the air filter is due to the customer tipping the generator on its side when hauling or unloading the generator from the vehicle.