new mower. help me pick!

djrussell

Threads
Hi everyone,

New member here. I just got a new house so will need a new mower. I'm a beginner at this besides mowing my parents lot when I was young.

I'm looking at a nice "investment" quality mower that will last me a long time. My lot is .25 acre. There's about 6' of slope front to back but nothing really excessive. There are a couple small trees, curved flower beds, and a curved sidewalk (corner lot). I've been researching for a couple weeks and THINK I have it narrowed down but am looking for opinions/suggestions. I'm thinking walkbehind self propelled.

My short list is the Cub Cadet 98H for $481, Honda HRX217VKA $537, or Honda HRR216VKA for $358. Those are links to the product pages.

Getting discounted gift cards and coupons brings the Honda prices at HD down quite a bit.

There's a Tractor Supply Co near me so I can go put my hands on a 98M but will have to special order a 98H somewhere else.

I like the swivel wheels of the 98M. I've read that some of the fasteners on this line are pretty cheap and will need replacement. That's not a huge deal though, Ace hardware to the rescue. Anyone have feedback on them in general? There are discrepancies about which Honda engine is actually included on the 98H. You might notice the literature differs.

I'm not sure if I should just skip the CC and go for a reliable Honda though. The dual blades look nice though. Is the composite deck of the HRX actually worth it? I don't remember any of my dad's mowers ever rusting and they were run-of-the-mill Craftsmans.

Thanks!
-DJR

rekees

Threads
The MSRP for the Honda HRR216VKA is $479 so if you can get it for $358 that would be a good deal. You really can't go wrong buying a Honda and with just .25 acres that mower should last for a couple decades if you maintain it properly.

AndySKane

Threads
I'd recommend a mower with a blade clutch so you don't have to turn the engine off every time you leave the mower.