FREE Air Filter element material.

fabricgator

Threads
Hey guys,

I just wanted to share something. My old lawnboy filter was deteriorating, I found someone selling them on ebay years ago. WAIT FOR IT... you probably already know.

Well, I got a pack of about 20 of them for 20 dollars. Junk!

After a season, I went to check/clean it and it had shrunk, crumbled, really hated that I had ever discarded my OEM OMC element.
The 19 other ones were junk in the ziplock I was storing them in.

I am an aircraft mechanic. Cessna, Piper, Mooney and others, there is an approved aftermarket induction air filter called Bracket air filter. It is a foam type, oiled, in an aluminum frame, and it catches everything.
Every aircraft (the ones that are certified to fly) has to replace this foam at least every year if not every 100 hours of flight time for a commercial airplane like a flight school. They throw these things away about 5 a week at the place I used to work.

I am using a piece of this and couldn't be happier. I'd bet a dollar to a doughnut that if you went to any airport mechanic shop or flight school, and asked the mechanics for a few of those elements, they would gladly give them to you. Ask for a BA4108 or a BA6108 for the Cessna 150, 152, 170, 172, 182, etc. This is already 3/4 inch thick about 6" x 6" Cut it, wash it with a little gasoline and a shot of K&N filter oil and your back in business. A little 10w-30 diluted with gasoline will work in place of special filter oil too. Just let the gas evaporate out after you oil it.

Or just cut it and use it as you get it, You will be able to see what side to put towards the engine.

If it is clean and you can not tell, there is the part number printed on the engine side. Also, the engine side may show 1/4" screen pattern from being in the aluminum frame all year.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
:welcome:

Good tip and thanks for sharing.