Raptor SD blades won't engage

KenV

Threads
Hi everyone,

I'm new here and new to ZTRs. I purchased a 54" Raptor SD three weeks ago. It has 5.5 hours on it - just getting ready to change the oil after mowing today. Anyway- as I was mowing the blades suddenly dis-engaged and they won't re-engage. I didn't hit anything and, being new to ZTRs, was going pretty slow. When I try to engage the blades I hear a click. Could it be a relay or something? Thanks for any help - Ken

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Did you look underneath to check the blade belt is still on all the pulleys.
A lounish click is the clutch engaging

KenV

Threads
I'm no mechanic, but the belt appears to be in place. Nothing hanging, etc.

KenV

Threads
Found out the problem at 5.5 hours was a broken spring. As an update - mower has 55 hours on it now and I only use it to mow my lawn. Mowing on flat ground today and suddenly the mower stops and won't re-start. A belt (transaxle maybe?) is off. It's incredibly discouraging to have spent what is to me a lot of money on a mower that breaks so often. I bought a Hustler on the recommendations of several friends, but to be honest I wouldn't do it again. A cheap mower from Home Depot would give better service. Ugh!

KenV

Threads
Another update - 105.4 hours and broke again. Mower will not move, turn, etc. What a piece of junk. Tried to contact Hustler directly via their website, but they never responded. Seems their customer service is of the same quality as their mowers.

turboawd

Threads
Another update - 105.4 hours and broke again. Mower will not move, turn, etc. What a piece of junk. Tried to contact Hustler directly via their website, but they never responded. Seems their customer service is of the same quality as their mowers.

well even if hustler contacted you, how are they suppose to know what went wrong? someone has to look at the mower in person.
you check the drive belt?