Honda GCV160 throttle linkage adjustment

packardv8

Threads
Our Honda GCV160 throttle and governor linkage has somehow gotten FUBAR. The choke won't close and the governor hunts.

I'm a fair shadetree mechanic but I can't see why the choke isn't closing. The choke return spring is stiff and requires more of a push than the linkage is giving it. When the choke is closed by hand, it's a first-pull start.

Anyone have handy the link to the Shop Manual which gives the step-by-step carb linkage and governor adjusment procedure?

jack vines

BTW - if I ever meet the numbnuts design engineer who decided to use the same two long bolts to hold the air filter base, carburetor, linkage and heat shields together, he'll die where I find him. My Cub Cadet 2135 rider is the same; with the air filter base in place, all the carb linkage and adjustments are hidden. Remove the two bolts and fourteen pieces go flying or out of alignment.

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Our Honda GCV160 throttle and governor linkage has somehow gotten FUBAR. The choke won't close and the governor hunts.

I'm a fair shadetree mechanic but I can't see why the choke isn't closing. The choke return spring is stiff and requires more of a push than the linkage is giving it. When the choke is closed by hand, it's a first-pull start.

Anyone have handy the link to the Shop Manual which gives the step-by-step carb linkage and governor adjusment procedure?

jack vines

BTW - if I ever meet the numbnuts design engineer who decided to use the same two long bolts to hold the air filter base, carburetor, linkage and heat shields together, he'll die where I find him. My Cub Cadet 2135 rider is the same; with the air filter base in place, all the carb linkage and adjustments are hidden. Remove the two bolts and fourteen pieces go flying or out of alignment.

Poke a couple of lengths of rod in each hole after you pull each bolt out.