Tecumseh Flymo Dellorto question

Slugs

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi all, newbie here. Just acquired a s/h 18" Flymo (it's actually a Crown, if you've ever heard of that--Google hasn't).
It appears that this hover has been used incorrectly, maybe for quite a while. The linkages and springs on the carb seem wrong, and the choke won't operate properly. It has been started (previous owner) by just moving the control lever forward to "Start", and pulling five times (or so) to prime it. No choke used! Eh? No primer button on carb! Eh? The mower starts (sometimes only (I've found) after a squirt into the cylinder), and then runs OK when on fullish throttle.

Regarding choke--the end of the lever shies away from the choke spindle when released. Only way to use the choke is to hold the lever forward (difficult when pulling the cord!)
Pics of what there is at
http://www.photohost.info/pfiles/1464/P1010010.JPG
http://www.photohost.info/pfiles/1465/P1010011.JPG
http://www.photohost.info/pfiles/1466/P1010012.JPG
http://www.photohost.info/pfiles/1467/P1010013.JPG
The mower as I say is designated "Crown", the label on engine cowling says "Aspera AV6(something)"...possibly AV600?
The tap on the tank says "Tecumseh"...and the markings on the carb are "Dellorto FHC 20 13". that's all I have.
So the problem is the unit cuts out gradually when moved to "minimum", and the choke won't operate without pushing and holding. What I would expect of this set up is push forward to "Start" (operating the choke), then when running adjust speed to suit.

The governor spring (marked in white for clarity) is obviously just a makeshift spring, stretched. The dimple in plate (marked "A" on photos) I would have thought would drop into the hole on the control lever WHEN ON CHOKE. Is this correct? At the moment it drops while pulling the choke OFF. In other words, the dimple DETERS operation of the choke, unless held by hand.