Lawn World another pile of cheap Chineese Junk or genuine fox in the hen house ?

bertsmobile1

Lawn Royalty
Threads
  • / Lawn World another pile of cheap Chineese Junk or genuine fox in the hen house ?
Today I had the misfortune of being called out to help a customer fix a mower I have never worked on before.
Now I must confess that I did not go out with the open & objective mind that I should have when looking at a new piece of equipment.
Firstly the "I can't get the parts I have bought to fit " syndrome usually ends up in tears & me looking either uncooperative or greedy when I try to recover th actual time spent in rectifying the owners "fixes"
And secondly because I have suffered a few previous encounters with the same makers cheap & nasty Honda Self propelled look alikes .
Previously the original seller did not want to know about it & referred me to the previous repairer who also was not interested in supplying parts and was in fact unable to even find the correct part given the model & serial numbers.
They eventually directed me to the current importers who wanted to see the part so they could match it. Not the sort of thing that creates great faith in the brand.

Any way, this is what I was confronted with on a machine ( 60" Cobra ) that has done 56 hours, I repeat this is a supposed commercial mower with 56 hours on the clock over the 16 months the owner has had the machine.

Boss.jpgFlange.jpgBoth.jpg

The front spindle pulley had failed by the boss detatching from the pulley flange.
If you look closely at the first picture you will note that it is a TIG weld with a massive under cut.
This picture has the boss upside down so it would not be visible when inspecting the machine without using a mirror.
Compare that weld to the one in the second picture where you can see the nice ( and it is good even if the end pool was not properly filled ) fillet on the top of the pulley where it is visible to the mug purchaser.