I was enjoying my new Raptor SD 54, now I'm PO'ed...

mooch91

Threads
All,

I've got about 1.9 hrs on my new Raptor SD 54. I brought it home from the dealer yesterday and mowed.

Two issues I'm having (both reported here by someone else as well):

• My hydro expansion tank is EMPTY. No evidence of any fluid in the tank. I'M VERY CONCERNED. I know I can top off the fluid, per the manual, but how do I know the hydros have been running with sufficient oil? How can I tell if I've damaged the hydros by running them low on oil? Do they come pre-filled from the factory? I never thought to check this when I brought it home and started it up...I assumed because I was buying from a dealer, all was good.
  • The thing has been somewhat jerky to operate. I'm still learning how to control it, but I'm convinced one of the controls is operating the wheel faster than the other. I think I'm going to go through the setup procedure to set them the same speed (per the service manual).

These are a couple of things I did not expect to have to deal with, buying from a local dealer.

Any thoughts in particular on the hydro oil? Should I raise he&& with the dealer?

Thanks!

RaptorSD

Threads
Any thoughts in particular on the hydro oil? Should I raise he&& with the dealer?

Thanks!

I thought the same thing and I've added around 14oz in 17hrs of running. Not to worry, yes the hydros are adequately filled at the factory and I believe the paper elements in the filters soak up some of the oil like someone else mentioned. Good idea to keep an eye on it early though, easy to forget when it's new.

mooch91

Threads
Wondering if I should drain them out just to be sure there is something in them. Then fill fresh. Can't hurt, I guess. I'd like to get the dealer to supply me the oil.

MRCo.

Threads