TimeMaster Transmission Problem

Nebraskahockey

Forum Newbie
Threads
I have a Toro TimeMaster, model 20199 that I bought used and having some problems with the transmission. Not sure if this is specific to the TimeMaster or just the Toro personal pace system. I have replaced the drive belt and adjusted the cable numerous times. The problem is, when I fully push down on the self propell the mower is slow to build speed. On pavement, fully engaged the tires won't spin, it won't pull away hard, it slowly builds power and tries and pull, but no real power. Basically a 3 yr old could withstand the pulling power of the mower on concrete. If I start to push a little it will get up to full speed, but has no initial torque. I'm used to old toro 3 speed transmission where when you pull the handle the tires spin and the mower takes off. I'm really unfamiliar with the personal pace and would appreciate if anyone had any ideas or has ran into this problem before.

Thanks,

exotion

Lawn Addict
Threads
I have a Toro TimeMaster, model 20199 that I bought used and having some problems with the transmission. Not sure if this is specific to the TimeMaster or just the Toro personal pace system. I have replaced the drive belt and adjusted the cable numerous times. The problem is, when I fully push down on the self propell the mower is slow to build speed. On pavement, fully engaged the tires won't spin, it won't pull away hard, it slowly builds power and tries and pull, but no real power. Basically a 3 yr old could withstand the pulling power of the mower on concrete. If I start to push a little it will get up to full speed, but has no initial torque. I'm used to old toro 3 speed transmission where when you pull the handle the tires spin and the mower takes off. I'm really unfamiliar with the personal pace and would appreciate if anyone had any ideas or has ran into this problem before.

Thanks,