Scott ride on by john Deere starter won't turn over when I turn the key

Stenny

Forum Newbie
Threads
  • / Scott ride on by john Deere starter won't turn over when I turn the key
I just got this mower and I replaced starter solenoid and it still won't start but if I jump to the starter wire with a screw driver or a wire from battery it turns over.. So I figured it was starter solenoid and replaced it and it still does same thing do I need to like step on the brake or press a different button I tried everything I figured I would just need to turn key and starter would kick on but it didn't ... Someone please help I am new to ride on mowers

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads
Here is an electrical troubleshooting procedure that might help you.

Electrical* problems can be very easy or very difficult, depending on four things.
1. * How well you understand basic electricity.
2. *What tools you have and know how to use.
3. *How well you follow directions.
4. *You don't overlook or assume anything and verify everything.

Remember we cannot see what you are doing. *You are our eyes, ears and fingers in solving this problem. *You must be as accurate as you can when you report back. *The two basic tools we will ask you to use are a test light and a multi-meter. *If you have an assistant when going through these tests it would be very helpful. *These steps work the best when done in order, so please don't jump around. *Now let's solve this problem.

First, check the fuse(s), check battery connections for corrosion (clean if necessary) and *voltage - above 12.5 volts should be good.*

Second, check for power from the battery to one of the large terminals on the solenoid. *One of the wires is connected directly to the battery and has power all the time so one of the large terminals should light a test light or show 12 volts on a meter at all times.*