lawn-boy 5124 1977 commercial 19" cut

wilbuild

Forum Newbie
Threads
Hi. I have read and followed this forum on a variety of topics for years, but this is my first post. Thank you for reading this. I am not an expert, I have very few tools - but always enjoyed tinkering and making things work that others discard.

I liberated a vintage lawn-boy from a neighbour's trash - I saw him cut his lawn with it for years. It is model 5124 serial number 370159 19" cut commercial. It was made in 1977 by Outboard Marine Corporation in Peterborough, Canada. The engine cowling is green and the deck and handles are beige.

I fixed the manual starter recoil - fired it up, but it ran slow unless I pushed the handle down, lifting the front end up 8 plus inches (like a wheelie) off the ground - leveling out it would run slow and die.

I have dis and re assembled the modular carb. It was clean, but remarkably simple - a float suspended by a spring with a metal-type pin entering the fuel intake port; not a float system with a hinge.

I've done some research and fingured out that the engine is a D-409. I can't find a diagram that shows how the speed control is supposed to work.

I've noticed that it is missing a control arm and lever for speed control. Right now the carburator flap is shut with a spring - I see a place on the carburator to attach a control arm.

I gather that the control arm is critical - I'm not sure where to look for one or how to rig something that will work in its place. Can you help with this ?

I haven't fired the machine since the carb clean out, but I'm not expecting a change because it was clean and seemingly functional. What do you think of the previously described symptom of running slow and dying when leveled out ?

I have to wait for a reasonable time tomorrow to attempt to fire it.

It would be great to meet anyone in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area) who shares a similar interest and could help me with this project.

Thanks

Wilbuild

oldboys

Threads