How to bypass the seat shut off switch

jbeambabie

Forum Newbie
Threads
How's it going. New member here.
I just bought a Craftsman YT3000 this year and I'm already growing tired of the seat shut off switch. It is VERY sensitive. Under the seat there are 4 wires. 2 are black (I assume they're ground :rolleyes:) and one of them is jumped to the other. the other 2 are different colors. I'm not an electrician but can follow directions well. Do any of you guys know how I might bypass that switch so I can stop cursing when I mow. :cool:

okiepc

Threads
:welcome: to the forum, I can't answer your question but someone will be by to help you, just wanted to say welcome.:thumbsup:

jbeambabie

Forum Newbie
Threads
Here is a couple ways and links as below. Do this at your own risk as there is a safety reason for the switch and take into account who else may use the mower.

Seat Safety Switch Modification

bypass a seat switch

Thank you.
Jumping the wires didn't seem to help. I have know idea why :confused3: I'd figure that all it needed was to complete the circuit.
Anyway.... This is how I fixed it for 10 cents or less.

***Disclaimer DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK*****
I did this because I am the only person that uses the tractor and I ALWAYS shut off the blades before I get off or pick anything up in the yard!!! My yard is also flat so I don't have to worry about the tractor rolling.

1. Remove the seat
2. Remove (Twist) the seat shut-off assembly
3. Seperate the shut-off switch (grey) and the outer housing (black).
4. Super glue 2 nickels (or washers to the same thickness) to the inside of the outer housing. ***This is used to depress the shut off button when assembled***
5. Put everything back together

1.jpg2.jpg

Rivets

Lawn Royalty
Threads