Craftsman Self-Propelled has stopped moving: Maybe just the V-belt?

TBm

Threads
  • / Craftsman Self-Propelled has stopped moving: Maybe just the V-belt?
Hello, all ==

Please see my two attached image files to identify/confirm the Craftsman Lawnmower model.

I've been using this mower for twelve years on rough, extremely hilly terrain. It's had a few problems, but all things considered, has performed admirably.

This season, I noticed the propulsion seemed to be getting weaker, and yesterday it quit entirely. I noticed a faint "squeeking" sound in the minutes before forward movement ceased, and I think there was a faint "burned rubber" smell.

I'm hoping repair will be a simple (and cheap) matter of REPLACING THE V-BELT that transfers power from the blade shaft to the forward-mounted gear case. Please see Part 5 in the exploded parts diagram below: described as V-belt, part number 146527.

FYI: The original front drive wheels wore out completely (an indication of hard use) so I replaced them last year. I think maybe the new, full tread of the replacement wheels/tires put additional strain on the aging propulsion system.

Please advise. Fingers crossed,
Tom

Attachments

• craftsman_id.jpg
    craftsman_id.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 21
  • diagram.jpg
    diagram.jpg
    54.2 KB · Views: 24

RobertBrown

Lawn Addict
Threads
Hello, all ==

Please see my two attached image files to identify/confirm the Craftsman Lawnmower model.

I'm hoping repair will be a simple (and cheap) matter of REPLACING THE V-BELT that transfers power from the blade shaft to the forward-mounted gear case. Please see Part 5 in the exploded parts diagram below: described as V-belt, part number 146527.

FYI: The original front drive wheels wore out completely (an indication of hard use) so I replaced them last year. I think maybe the new, full tread of the replacement wheels/tires put additional strain on the aging propulsion system.

Please advise. Fingers crossed,
Tom