Just Bought 25 acre Farm - need advise on riding mowers

Rose

Threads
  • / Just Bought 25 acre Farm - need advise on riding mowers
My husband and I just bought a 25 acre farm in a very pretty part of our state. We wanted to be able to keep our 4 horses on our own land. As well, I was recently diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis and so I had to give up my work teaching riding at another stable.

We have about 4 acres in barns, winter pasture and a sand ring. And about 4 acres in lawns etc. The rest is used mostly for growing hay. I'm not trying to find a mower for the hay fields. We will get that done for us by professionals. I'm not an expert on that.

But we do need a riding mower for the lawns and if possible something which will also be used to pull the harrow for the riding ring. Any suggestions?

linda4

Threads
I would get a Bolens commercial tractor with the basic attachments for mowing, pulling, and hauling. It will be a bit expensive, but if you maintain it well it should last you 10-15 years.

Attachments

• 073011170615.jpg
    073011170615.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 2
  • 073011170511.jpg
    073011170511.jpg
    96.3 KB · Views: 2
  • 073011164309.jpg
    073011164309.jpg
    109.3 KB · Views: 3

Muhammad

Administrator
Staff member
Threads
With your property size, I'd say a compact or subcompact tractor will give you the most versatility. Chances are you're going to eventually need some attachments other than the mower and harrow.

Granted, while a good garden tractor can be found for $1,500-$2,000, even a subcompact tractor is going to cost $7,500-$10,000 depending on age, condition, hours, etc. But it's something to consider an investment in your property.

oldfarmer

Forum Newbie
Threads